Frequently Asked Questions

Why shorten URLs?

Why shorten URLs?

How to create a shortened URL?

How to create a shortened URL?

  1. Visit the Little Shortener site at l.tl.
  2. If you aren't signed in, click the Login button if you have a l.tl account, or click the Get Started button to create an account.
  3. Write, or paste, or drag and drop your long URL in the Paste a long url text box.
  4. Click the Shorten button.

Signed in vs. Anonymous URLs?

Signed in vs. Anonymous URLs?

  • The URLs created anonymously, while not signed in, are temporary, to demonstrate funtionality. All anonymous links are regularly deleted.
  • The URLs created while signed in are added to your l.tl account where you can track their use. A link created while signed in never expires unless it has to be removed for spam, privacy, or legal reasons.

How to report an abusive l.tl short link?

How to report an abusive l.tl short link?

Report spammy, fraudulent, malicious, or phishing l.tl short links at l.tl/report.

What browsers does l.tl support?

What browsers does l.tl support?

The l.tl (Little Shortener) web app supports the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Edge, Safari, and Opera. Other browsers may not function fully or properly with Little Shortener.

What are custom aliases?

What are custom aliases?

The Standard and Advanced plans subscribers may choose a custom alias for their short link. E.g. l.tl/WhyWork. "WhyWork" is a custom alias for your short link. Note that the custom aliase reservation mechanism is case-insensitive: if l.tl/WhyWork is taken, l.tl/whywork cannot be created.

Are the short links case-sensitive?

Are the short links case-sensitive?

Yes, all short links are case-sensitive. Note that in the particular case of custom aliases, if l.tl/WhyWork is a valid link, l.tl/whywork, or l.tl/WHYwork do not exist. Although they have the same letters, only the first custom alias defined with those letters will work.

What is Link Expiration?

What is Link Expiration?

The link creator may assign the link expiration to disable the link after the set date.

What is Link Password?

What is Link Password?

The link creator may assign a link password to restrict access to the link to only those who know the link password.

What is Link Description?

What is Link Description?

The link creator may enter a link description to easily identify links in their own account.

What is Link Geotargeting?

What is Link Geotargeting?

One may use different pages for different countries for the same link. Geotargeting, also called location-based marketing, uses geofencing to target people in a particular geographical space. Simply choose the country and enter the URL when creating the link.

What is Link Device Targeting?

What is Link Device Targeting?

One may use different pages for different devices for the same link. Simply choose the device and enter the URL when creating the link.

What is Link Bundling?

What is Link Bundling?

The bundle feature allows one to group links and generate a unique link to send to people. That particular link will enable one to see all the links in the bundle and use them.

To add a link to a bundle:

  1. Under the link, hover on option, then click Add to Bundle.
  2. You will see the bundles in a dropdown menu.
  3. If you don't see any bundles, you will need to create one first.

What is a Link Rotator?

What is a Link Rotator?

This feature allows a bundle to act as a rotator. The special link will rotate links randomly and will send the user to a short link within the bundle.

What is Pixel Tracking?

What is Pixel Tracking?

The pixel tracking is used by ad platforms such as Facebook and Adwords to allow you to gather data on your customers and how they behave on your website. By adding your pixel ID from either of the platforms, you will be able to optimize marketing by merely using short URLs.

To add a pixel:

  1. Under the Pixel page, add your desired pixel, including a name and the pixel ID.
  2. When shortening, click on the advanced option, browse to the end of the block, and you will see an option to select the pixel.

What is the Team Feature?

What is the Team Feature?

The new team feature allows you to invite your group members and operate the same account as a team. The team feature is perfect for collaboration. The team leader must invite users and users to accept the invitation via email and create an account to use this feature. Once the account has been created, members can access the same environment as a team member.

To add a user to a team:

  1. Under Team, enter the member's email.
  2. Then choose the events to authorize this user.
  3. Send Invite.

Please note that the team member is only allowed the set permissions and nothing more.

What is Link Tracking?

What is Link Tracking?

Little Shortener (l.tl) uses an advanced system that automatically tracks users and logs data for the benefit of the link owner.

What is Caching?

What is Caching?

Little Shortener (l.tl) employs aggressive caching to ensure the utmost speed. Consequently, the users, links, and the clicks public information may take up to 15 minutes to refresh.

How secure is l.tl?

How secure is l.tl?

Little Shortener implementation security uses some of the most advanced algorithms to keep the user account safe and the URLs phish-free.

Little Shortener hashes all passwords using the best current solution.

All URLs go through a series of validations:

  1. URL Format.
  2. CAPTCHA Check.
  3. Bot Check.
  4. Keyword Blacklisting.
  5. Domain Blacklisting.
  6. Google Safe Check.
  7. Phish-Tank Check.

What is the pay early discount?

What is the pay early discount?

Paying for one year in advance is 20% cheaper than the same plan if paid month-to-month.

When can I upgrade?

When can I upgrade?

One may upgrade anytime. One may choose to start with our free package and enhance one's subscription anytime to enjoy premium features.

How will I be charged?

How will I be charged?

You will be charged at the beginning of each period automatically until canceled.

How do refunds work?

How do refunds work?

Upon request, we will issue a refund at the moment of the request for all upcoming periods. If you are on a monthly plan, we will stop charging you at the end of your current billing period. If you are on a yearly plan, we will refund the remaining months.

When does the plan expire?

When does the plan expire?

The system will automatically switch the user from Pro to Free if the subscription has lapsed, temporarily disabling all custom splash pages. The user will need to renew the account every month or opt-in for the yearly plan.

What if my credit card is declined?

What if my credit card is declined?

Suppose your credit card is declined, for example, due to invalid data entered or due to the bank refusing to honor the charge for an unknown reason. In that case, the transaction appears in your l.tl transaction history with a "failed" status, and the amount crossed out. Simply use another card, or call your bank to clear the misunderstanding.

Do you offer coupons?

Do you offer coupons?

On occasion, we issue coupons for plan rate discounts. Please email us, follow us on social media channels, or search the Internet for the most current l.tl (Little Shortener) specials.